“An Ode to Repose”

tranquil
An Ode to Repose
by Lance Gracy

How must I form my thoughts to Thee?
My Lord; a groan, an earnest plea?
Soul vexed; bones of ache;
to rend mine heart, to weep, to break

Of the Cross: I know of no greater hope
to know you bled, scorned, so to mourn: I cope.
Oh Render Aid, Most High Prince of Peace
In You I dwell; so as to ne’er lease

Mine heart of hearts; God, my soul asunder!
For Grace abounds, even in mine horrific plunder!
Who have I? but You, My Lord!
Strengthen our Bond, examine the cord

How must I form my thoughts to Thee?
Alas, there is Your Rod; to part the Sea
A moment, a chance, ah yes: a vision of clarity
Your voice softly whispers, “Verily, Verily”

“I shall not forsake thee; you, my child,
Come to me, hasten! do not idle!”

“Here I am Lord, send me!
Oh my Lord! I groan! I plea!
You, dearest Savior, have not forsaken thee!
Everlasting! Everlasting! I shall be with Thee!”

So, how shall I form my thoughts to Thee?
My God, you know, you know all that they are to be.

Leave a Reply

